Martin Cox Presented The “C. Bradford Mitchell” For MaritimeMatters

The Steamship Historical Society presented several awards at its annual conference and ShiPosium which took place on the QUEEN MARY May 2 – 5, 2013.

Among the awards the Los Angeles Maritime Museum’s tugboat ANGELS GATE took Tugboat of the Year.  Also during the ceremony, the battleship IOWA was named “Museum Ship of the Year”, and maritime photographer Martin Cox received the “C. Bradford Mitchell” award for services to maritime history for founding and operating MaritimeMatters.

SSHSA Awards, Long Beach CA May 4, 2013. Photo by Marifrances Trivelli
SSHSA Awards, Long Beach CA May 4, 2013. Photo by Marifrances Trivelli

“Each year the Steamship Historical Society of America recognizes vessels, people or entities that have exemplified or made a significant contribution to the history of engine-powered vessels.” stated CDR John Hamma, USN (Ret), President of the Society.

The C. Bradford Mitchell award was previously given in 2011 to Robert C. Smith for his Guide to Maritime Museums of North America; 2010 to Christopher Winters in recognition of his publication Centennial: Steaming Through the American Century; in 2008 to  SS United States Conservancy;  in 2005 to Micky Arison of the Carnival Corporation.

Martin gratefully accepted the award and thanked the society and the writers who make MaritimeMatters what it is; Peter Knego for his blogs DECKED! and SEATREKS, Shawn Dake for his news and historical articles, Kalle Id for Northern European history and ferry coverage, Peter Newall for his recent NORWEGIAN BREAKAWAY introduction, and the many other writers and photographers who have contributed to the site since its arrival on the web in the late 1990s.

The Steamship Historical Society is the world’s leading organization dedicated to recording, preserving and disseminating the history of engine-powered vessels. For more information, visit their website at



Add a Comment